Connecting Latinas All Over the World through Literature

Latino Literacy Now

The 16th Annual International Latino Book Awards

Latino Literacy Now

Latino Literacy Now

The 16th Annual International Latino Book Awards is produced by Latino Literacy Now, in conjunction with Las Comadres and REFORMA.

The ILBA celebrates and honors worldwide achievements in Latino literature and features Spanish, English and Portuguese books and authors in “the largest Latino cultural event in the USA.”

This year the ILBA has pulled out all the stops to promote our Latino authors!

  • Finalists will be announced the week of March 17, 2014, if not sooner.
  • Shortly after Finalists are announced the ILB Award Winning Author Tour will begin (approximately 10 cities which include major Hispanic organization’s conferences and book festivals).
  • ILBA will have a booth at the ALA Conference to showcase all our finalists.
  • During 2014 Book Expo America in New York City, Las Comadres will host a “pinning” ceremony for all finalist in the area able to attend.

Latino Literacy Now has created beautiful award winning author pins. Each finalist author present will be presented his/her pin. The Grand Awards Ceremony where all finalists will be recognized will be held in Las Vegas on either June 28 or 29, 2014 in conjunction with the American Library Association’s annual conference. Our new partner REFORMA is a welcome addition to the significance of the awards.

Deadline for the 2014 Awards has expired

Latino Literacy Now is a nonprofit co-founded by Edward James Olmos that has produced 52 Latino Book & Family Festivals around the USA and the Latino Books into Movies Awards. Las Comadres mission is to create opportunities for Latinas through community, culture, technology, and education. REFORMA is the National Association to Promote Library and Information Services to Latinos and is an affiliate of the American Library Association.

In the last 15 years the ILBA has honored 1,437 authors who have totaled nearly 200 million in book sales. Winners have include many of the best-known Latino authors including Belinda Acosta, Roldofo Acuña, Alma Flor Ada, Isabel Allende, Rudolfo Anaya, Mary J. Andrade, Ron Arias, José Antonio Buciaga, Denise Chavéz, Paulo Coelho, Dr. Camilo Cruz, Gabriel García Márquez, Reyna Grande, Oscar Hijuelos, Edna Iturralde, Mario Vargas Llosa, Josefina López, Pablo Neruda, Ana Nogales, Jose-Luis Orozco, Luis Rodriguez, and Victor Villaseñor.

Winners have also included well-known figures from other professions including Entertainers like Celia Cruz, Gloria Estefan, and Cheech Marin; Sports notables Oscar de la Hoya and Jorge Posada; Media figures like Martín Llorens, Jorge Ramos, Teresa Rodriguez, and Ray Suarez; Public servant Henry Cisneros; and chefs like Paulina Abascal, Jose Garces, and Daisy Martinez.

Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On YoutubeVisit Us On Pinterest